Lifestyle–Daily Prompt

swimmingMy lifestyle has changed dramatically due to multiple sclerosis. I have to deal with multiple falls, multiple symptoms, worsening symptoms, and taking drugs for my symptoms. I try to maintain an active lifestyle, however with multiple mobility and fatigue challenges, I find it difficult.  I swim three days a week, do multiple PT and OT exercises, and try to get on a cross trainer at least once a week.  As a former athlete, I believe it’s imperative to maintain an active lifestyle.  And even though it’s very tiring to do those things and requires much rest afterward, it necessary for my physical and mental health.

What’s really hard is shopping.  I actually hate shopping. Since I am tall and have very narrow feet, I can’t buy anything in the stores. So all of my clothes come from online. Which is a good thing.  But I still need to go to the grocery store, buy gas, go to my self-help group, etc.  I used to be able to do 4-5 errands and have lots of energy leftover.  Now I can do two or three and that’s if one is a drive-through.  And why is it that prescriptions are at one end of the store and milk is at the other end of the store?  It wears me out just thinking about it!

In trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle, I am eating better. I try to stay away from white sugar, flour, and white potatoes. I’m not perfect, but I feel better when I stay away from those foods.

I’m seeing some frustrating cognitive issues. Normally A + B = AB.  But for me, sometimes A + B = A.  To keep my mind sharp I do puzzles and play mah-jongg. I also attend a Bible study and teach a Bible study.

The serenity prayer really helps me with the grief that I experience because of the MS. The Serenity Prayer is the common name for a prayer written by the American theologian Reinhold Niebuhr (1892–1971). The best-known form is: “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, And wisdom to know the difference.” A good example of this is the recent physical therapy that I’m doing for my back. I was very skeptical, thinking that it would not help. But it has immensely. At first I was thinking that the symptoms were something that I could not change.  Now, I am gaining the courage to change the things that I can, not only physically, but mentally as well.  And God is granting me that wisdom!

One of the great passages in the Bible is Phillipians 4:4-9. If I keep my mind stayed on those things, I will have an abundant lifestyle no matter what!!

“Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!  Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.”  Amen!!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/lifestyle

10 thoughts on “Lifestyle–Daily Prompt

  1. I often lose sight of what I need to do to stay in front of symptoms of my illnesses and I slip causing a flare of one or another. The serenity prayer is a good prayer for my situation as it is for yours. Thank you for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful tribute to the serenity prayer at it’s finest.

    Accepting the things we cannot change; changing (or dealing with) the things we can, and spreading the wisdom to know the difference!

    Thanks for linking me here Jo Ann. I enjoyed the read very much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment