Sunday Devotion 

“I am the Light of the world”

I have heard it said that our lives are like a kaleidoscope. Each time a kaleidoscope turns, there is another beautiful picture of combinations of bright colors. And at the center there has to be light, because without light, the kaleidoscope would just be dark. Jesus is the center of my kaleidoscope, and my life revolves around Him. He is also a light that shines through the colors that make them beautiful. He says in John 8:12, “I am the Light of the world. He who follows me shall walk not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” 

In Matthew 5:16 Jesus says, “Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your father in heaven.” So not only is Jesus my Light, but I am His light to others. Paul tells us, “For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of the light for the spirit is all goodness, righteousness, truth.”

Life takes strange, yet beautiful, twists and turns—like each turn of the kaleidoscope. Whether it was dealing with a spouse that committed suicide, a divorce, a difficult relationship with a friend or family member, a job layoff and subsequent change, or being on unemployment, I have worked hard to maintain my optimism, strong faith, and “can do” attitude. I know that all things work for my good—if I will let them!! I may be diagnosed with MS, but that is not who I am. I am an intelligent, capable, and strong woman who has done incredible things and has an amazing life. I will continue to keep my eyes on God and His purposes for my life. I will adjust and be stronger for it. I am committed to seeing all the turns of my life through Jesus’s eyes instead of mine.

8 thoughts on “Sunday Devotion 

Leave a Reply

