Dormant–Daily Prompt

doormatWhy do I have a picture of a doormat for this post you ask? Well when I first saw the word dormant I read it as doormat. And if you’ll give me a little leaway, I will explain how they are connected. Ephesians 6:22-23 says “Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is head of the wife, as also Christ is head of the church and he is the savior of the body.”  Submit in this context does not mean to be under the absolute control of another, but to voluntarily placed yourself under the authority of another. God does not force us to be his children. He does not force us to believe on the Lord Jesus as our Savior and Lord. We are already his children, and we have free will to believe or not to believe. 

When we as wives allow our husbands to abuse us, whether it is physical, emotional, mental, or spiritually; we become a doormat.  (Or anyone who is in any kind of forced submission.). And our strength and dignity and beauty and wisdom and honor lie dormant.  

Some of you may be screaming at the computer right now because I said “when we as wives allow…”. Looking back on my abusive relationships, I can say now that I’m on the other side, that I did allow it. I lost my power and my dignity and came to believe the things that were said and done to me were correct or somehow warranted.  And because of that I say that I allowed it.

If any of you that are reading this post are in an abusive relationship, whether it be a spouse, a coach, a teacher, parent, or anyone else please listen to a heartfelt plea. You are beautiful. You are strong!  You are due honor and dignity. You are smart, talented, and have amazing gifts.  And you are loved by God above. The God of all gods. The great I AM!  The creator of the universe!

Please find a safe person to confide in and let them throw you a lifeline. There is help. There is help that you probably have never thought of. There might be a friend just waiting for you to trust them. 

You are beautiful. You are strong!  You are due honor and dignity. You are smart, talented, and have amazing gifts. And you are loved by God above. The God of all gods. The great I AM! The creator of the universe!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/dormant

13 thoughts on “Dormant–Daily Prompt

  1. Thank you for this word of encouragement to those who have been abused! I regret to say that many churches have sided with the abuser, and ladies need to know that not all churches are like that. I have recently reached out to bloggers who have been abused and asked how I can best address the issue when someone comes to me who has been abused. I have gotten some great feedback. I want to be guilty of reaching out to those who have been marginalized by others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I started this blog for two reasons only. To educate people about multiple sclerosis. And to share my love of the Scriptures! Sometimes other things get thrown in. I think that’s the whole purpose of our blogs, to reach others with our experiences. To walk hand-in-hand down the road of life!

      Like

Leave a Reply

