Independence–Penguin Prompt

Grandma Lou and kidsI am the middle girl between two boys. There is a lot of fact in birth order psychology. My older brother was the honored firstborn son. My younger brother was the baby and got all the attention. I was the “forgotten” child. My opinions were not valued or cherished. So I learned to manipulate my surroundings and felt I had to be perfect to get noticed. Many middle children rebel to get attention. I went the other way. I wanted to get perfect grades and be successful in sports. I was the peacemaker. I am fiercely independent, a natural leader, and less dependent upon a relationship with my parents.

And now I find myself in the role of caregiver/companion to my mother. I moved to North Carolina three years ago as my dad’s health was declining. He passed away nine months after I arrived. Now I’m here to support my mother.  This has become my mission field. I know God has called me to be here.

I value my independence greatly. I have lived alone for many years and like things the way I like things!!  I am also an introvert which means I refresh and regroup by having alone time. However, these last couple of weeks as my mother was in the hospital for the last two weekends, it has taken a physical and emotional toll.  She is doing quite well now that she’s on the appropriate medicines.  And I’ve had some time to get recharged. So all is well!

Creative Prompt – Independence – Week 4

17 thoughts on “Independence–Penguin Prompt

  1. The work of a caregiver is one I admire. I am a hospice chaplain who spends a good deal of my time providing emotional support to those who care for our patients. Your mention of North Carolina also caught my attention. I have ministered in various parts of the state and especially love the mountains and the barbecue. I was very interested to hear your take on being a middle child also since I have one, but he is very much the extrovert. So many connecting points in my mind. I appreciate your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo Ann,, The role of a caregiver is one of the most fulfilling. We have to give up our own desires, but in the end, where God places us is where we spend time with Him and find our delight in Him. We do not do this alone, and the joy is in humility and dependence on Him. TWO FULL PLATES ~ Learning to be a Caregiver is one of our books in the series of Little Books About the Magnitude of God, available on Amazon. “Well done, thy good and faithful servant” will be your delight in heaven. We continue to pray His blessings for both of you. Much love in Christ ~ Fran

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Than the Lord your mom is better. I am sure you can get overwhelmed at times. I have a good friend who cares for her mom and know it is a challenge. The Lord definitely gives her that special grace she needs daily.
    One verse came to mind ….
    From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
    Psalms 61:2 KJV

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

