Sunday Devotion

prayer

Father God, I know that I am “Your workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works which You prepared beforehand that I should walk in.”[i] I want to offer myself as a clean, smooth canvas, not worrying about what You choose to paint on it, and feel each stroke of Your brush. I know that You have not given me a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind.[ii] Like King David I cry out and say that my trouble has increased and I wonder if there is any help in You.[iii] And also like David I say, “You have lifted up Your countenance upon me and put gladness in my heart.”.[iv] You are my “rock and fortress and my deliverer in whom I will trust.”.[v] Your Son Jesus is the Light of the world, and because I follow Him I have the light of life.[vi] I will walk as a child of light and find what is acceptable to You.[vii] Lord Jesus, in You is the “light of men which shines in the darkness.”[viii] Help me, Lord, to always look toward Your light and not to my circumstances. I will fear (have awe of and reverence for) You because You are the “fountain of life and will turn me away from the snares of death.”[ix] In Jesus’s name I pray these things. Amen.

 

[i] Ephesians 2:10, [ii] 1 Timothy 1:3, [iii] Psalm 3:1-2, [iv] Psalm 4:6-7, [v] Psalm 18:2, [vi] John 8:12, [vii] Ephesians 5:8-10, [viii] John 1:4, [ix] Proverbs 14:27

One thought on “Sunday Devotion

Leave a Reply

