Measuring Success

Love the quote by Emerson!

In the Arena

Growing up as the granddaughter of a well known small town farmer, I often heard the phrase, “Oh, your Rayford’s youngest grandbaby, so nice to meet you”- The introductions often followed with a story about how Grandpa helped Mr. Davis down the street fix his tractor or paying someone’s meal at Finn & Feather’s(the only restaurant in town) or giving a days work in exchange for a crate of cabbage and ‘maters to a family who fell on hard times. He was a kind, gentle yet hard working man of deep Faith.

As my brother and I grew older, we would hear him often say, “The Lord helps me breathe easier- Your Grandma helps me breathe easier-The men who fight for our country, help me breathe easier- The food we grow out there( as he peers out the window) helps me breathe easier.”

This is how he chose to live…

View original post 146 more words

Leave a Reply

