Denial–Daily Prompt

There are many kinds of denials. During the NCAA march madness, we saw a lot of denialdenials of baskets from the opposite team. Who remembers Lance Armstrong? Think of our political climate!! But, the denial I want to talk about is totally different.

I am the middle child between two boys. There is a lot of fact in birth order psychology. My older brother was the honored firstborn son. My younger brother was the baby and got all the attention. I was the “forgotten” child. My opinions were not valued or cherished.  I felt I had to be perfect to get noticed. Many middle children rebel to get attention. I went the other way. I wanted to get perfect grades and be successful in sports.  I was the peacemaker.
So as the peacemaker I don’t like conflict or to make waves. Most of the positions I’ve held did not approve of any opinions about religion. So I remained quiet. I did not want to appear pushy or get into any kind of discussion or conflict. It took me a long time to realize that I need to be true to my own story, not try to make anybody else believe something. Not speaking of my love for God was not overtly a denial, but it certainly was not being honest about my self!  It is not by my might or my power but by the Holy Spirit. I need to love people and be an example of Christ’s love. Not think I need to change someone.

There’s a lot of conflict in the world these days. It is confusing, frustrating, disappointing, and at times down right vulgar.  It really doesn’t matter what side you’re on. People need to understand that disagreement does not equal hate.  And a disagreement does not mean conflict. That was a hard one for me to understand. I try really hard to bring sides together to find peace. But it’s not always possible!

The following scripture can be seen as very controversial.  I know many of you will not agree with it. I’m going out on a limb. It is actually pretty scary.  I believe that all scripture is given by the inspiration of God and is available to us as instruction, correction, and equips us for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16)  May we be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.  (Ephesians 6:10) We are in tough times. We need safety and security amidst the current chaos, so may we not only be lovers of God, but may we never deny His power!

1 Timothy 3:1-9 “But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come:  For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!  For of this sort are those who creep into households and make captives of gullible women loaded down with sins, led away by various lusts, always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth. Now as Jannes and Jambres resisted Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, disapproved concerning the faith; but they will progress no further, for their folly will be manifest to all, as theirs also was.”

I pray that we will never resist the truth.  And we can walk in the assurance that it is not about us, but God’s living, breathing Word and His will for our lives!!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/denial

 

5 thoughts on “Denial–Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

