Not my hip!

spine.png

Even though my symptoms were such that I thought my hip replacement was wearing out, it was something different entirely. I’ve been diagnosed with degenerative disc disease and degenerative arthritis of the lumbar spine.  This occurs as natural daily stresses and minor injuries caused the disk to lose water and the outer shell of a disc weakens. This results in pressure being put on the nerves in the spinal cord.

What happens is the disc in between the vertebrae gets squished down and out.  (It’s kind of like what happens when you bite down on a jelly roll. All the jelly get squished and comes out of the doughnut.) A body can react to close the gap between the vertebrae by creating bone spurs around the disk space in an attempt to stop excess motion. I also have bone spurs in my lower spine.

About 10 years ago I had two series of three shots each of steroids in my lower spine.  It really helped! I was happy with the results. The procedure seems to have changed now. I will be going for an MRI to pinpoint more accurately where the areas are that need to be injected with the steroids.

It is interesting that the symptoms are similar to my MS symptoms. They include arm or leg pain, numbness or tingling, and weakness. Sounds just like my MS.

So right now we are waiting for the insurance company to approve the MRI. I hope it will be soon, as I’m excited to see the results.  

Our bodies are such a mystery! Even doctors often have to guess. We have been knit together in our mother’s womb, and every hair on our head is known by God. We are a miracle. Just think about all of the inter-workings of all of our systems and how the body can and does heal itself even from a minor cut.

Dear Father, you are Jehovah Rapha, you are the Great Physician. I pray right now for complete healing in my body from head to toe. I pray that whatever procedure needs to happen in my body would be according to Your good and perfect will. I pray You will guide the doctors and the technicians that will be diagnosing and treating me. Your kingdom come, on earth as it is in heaven! I praise You in all things!  Yes and Amen!

 

4 thoughts on “Not my hip!

Leave a Reply

