Label–Daily Prompt

Do you label people? Tall, short, fat, skinny, hair color or style, black, brown, white, mobility or lack there of, kind of car, and on and on.

Personally, I hate labels. I try to look at the inside of the person rather than the outside. It’s not an easy thing to do! 1 Samuel 16:7 says “But the Lord said to Samuel, do not look at his appearance or at his physical nature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see is man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

In Matthew 7:1, Jesus says “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.” In verse 5, He goes on to say “Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

Why do I talk about judgment, when the word for the day is label? I believe that judgment begets labels. There’s a lot of labeling going on these days. If you have been connected to the news for the last year or so, you’ve heard all kinds of labels.

As one who has a disability, I would rather you see me first, and not my weaknesses that are evident. I may have MS, but MS doesn’t have me! I say that MS in my life means Made Strong. I say that because it has made me strong enough to look on others with God’s love. I thought I did that before, but now I’m very cognizant of it!

And it does take an intentional action to not label others. Our society is built on bigger, better, faster, richer, more beautiful, greed and power. Zechariah 4:6 says “Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit.”

Oh Lord, may I look at people’s hearts more and more every day!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/label

12 thoughts on “Label–Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

