Nervous–Daily Prompt

nervous

I had my right hip replaced about 4 1/2 years ago. As with many of us MS’ers, I am prone to falling. In the last 4 1/2 years I’ve had perhaps 50 to 75 serious falls. By serious I mean one where I go from standing to the ground without understanding why or how. It also means that there is some kind of pain associated with it such as, a knot on the head, sore muscles, scraped knees, or broken glasses.

I’ve had a couple recent falls with subsequent muscle spasms, tightness and soreness. Because all of my falls happen to the right side of my body, which is the side that is most affected by multiple sclerosis, the pain or injury is generally on the right side as well.

So I am nervous to think that there might be something wrong with the hip that was replaced. I am nervous that I might need it to be replaced again.   I’m nervous to go through the surgery and rehab again.

But, God tells us to be strong and courageous. He says we “have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind”. My entire book, Fearless, is about how I have been able to rest in God’s love and know that with Him there’s nothing to fear.

So it sounds like I need to get back into the word of God and remember that He knows every hair on my head and has me in the palm of His hand.   Psalm 91 reads “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in Him I will trust……For He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up, lest you dash your foot against a stone”.

I can only be without fear (and therefore without any nervousness) because I am “strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.”  Praise God!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/nervous/

10 thoughts on “Nervous–Daily Prompt

  1. In a course in miracles they say you have 2 choices 2 ways of looking at things fear or love. Don’t live in fear of the what ifs. If it comes to pass, it will be dealt with. Don’t fear the unknown. Especially with MS my universe holds my future no need to live in fear.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Prayers for your decision….sounds like an evaluation would be first on the schedule, then go from there. Normal for us to be nervous…at those times I ask God’s Holy Spirit to be right there with me and that helps calm me down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

