Expectation–Daily Prompt

I used to have really high expectations of other people. I think it was because I knew what I would do in that situation, and therefore thought everybody should think the same way. Since my father has passed away, my mother expects me to do everything he did, without being asked. They were married for 67 years, so it would be impossible for me to know everything that he did and in the same way for my mother. I have to remind my mother about that often.

I have learned that my expectation for others is unrealistic. I’m not sure how the switch happened, but I think as I draw closer to God and rely solely on Him, I am not so wrapped up with what others do or think.

I know that He will never leave me or forsake me. I know He is for me. I know that He’s leading me by the Holy Spirit. I know that whatever He started in me will be completed. I know that through Christ I can do all things. And I know the joy of the Lord is my strength. So I can rest in Him knowing that He is God and I am not!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/expectation

12 thoughts on “Expectation–Daily Prompt

  1. This is so right on point and a great place to be. I’m like you I don’t know when the whole “expectation” thing shifted for me either but after it did, I realized my expectations were in some ways judgements, and there is but one judge, Him. My job is to love everyone and let God convict them of what he does or doesn’t want them to do. Thanks for sharing this. God bless you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All of the things you mentioned in the latter half of your post is true. And it will be very hard to come close to filling your dad’s shoes where your mother is concerned. Just do your best for her and let others think and say what they will. You will do a good job for her because you care enough to do so.

    Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

