Sunday Devotion

There are two wonderful examples of womanhood in the book of Luke in the Bible. Martha and Mary were sisters. Their brother was Lazarus, who was raised from the dead after four days by Jesus (see John 11). In this context, Jesus is in their home for a meal. Martha is busy in the kitchen. Mary is sitting at Jesus’s feet listening to every word He says. Martha goes to Jesus to complain that she is doing all the work. “But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, ‘Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.’”

Martha is type A who lives to work and works to live. I am a type A—full speed ahead, going my own way, fearless in my own strength, making decisions that I think are right, and forgetting God along the way. But He is faithful. He is quick to forgive. He never leaves me and is always ready to restore our relationship. He gives grace and mercy when justice is deserved. Let me say that again—He gives grace and mercy when justice is deserved. “For thus says the High and Lofty One Who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: ‘I dwell in the high and holy place, With him who has a contrite and humble spirit, To revive the spirit of the humble, And to revive the heart of the contrite ones.’”

You’ll notice that I must come to Him with humility and with a contrite heart. He told Martha that Mary had chosen the right thing. “And Jesus answered and said to her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.’” Mary loves to worship the Lord and stay by His side.

Martha was driven by duty, and Mary was driven by relationships. I want to be more like Mary; and with God’s help I can be as I turn to Him in humility and ask for the Holy Spirit’s help.

“Nevertheless when one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.”  2 Corinthians 2:16-18

3 thoughts on “Sunday Devotion

Leave a Reply

