Peace

I know that with the inauguration yesterday that there are two very different camps.  Some think President Trump is an answer to prayer.  Others are very worried about the direction he will bring.

Franklin Graham (Billy Graham’s son) quoted Paul’s First Letter to Timothy, chapter 2 which calls for prayers for all people, including “kings and for all those in authority, that we may live peacefully quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.” You can Read more here.

So whatever you think of President Trump, we are called to pray for him and his administration.  I am also reminded that our nation needs peace to reign instead of hate and discord.  Just because you disagree with someone, it doesn’t mean that you hate them, and need to demonstrate in a violent and destructive way.  (Not that anyone reading this is among the violent demonstrators.)

There is a story about Elijah and Elisha in the Bible. It is found in 2 Kings 2. Elijah was a major prophet who spoke with God fearlessly in the midst of a spiritual vacuum that gripped the northern kingdom of the Israelites. His name means the Lord is my God. His ministry reached the highest circles of government in Israel. He was the mentor of Elisha.

Elijah asked Elisha what he could do for him before he was taken away. (Elijah ascended to heaven without dying.) Elisha answered “Please let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.” As Elijah is taken up into the heavens, his mantle fell back to earth and Elisha took a hold of it.

In John 14 Jesus says there is a double portion of peace that is available to us. Jesus said that His helper, the Holy Spirit, will be sent to believers by the Father. And the Holy Spirit will teach us all things and bring us to remember all that Jesus has said to us. Jesus then says “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you, not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. “

My pastor recently challenged us to look inward to see if we have a double portion of the peace Jesus gives us. He said peace I leave with you, and then He said My peace I give to you. That’s the kind of double portion that is available to us.

Do you have that kind of piece? It is one of the things that Jesus tells us that is simple, but not easy. Peace is also one of the fruits of the Spirit (Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control.)

As I go throughout my day, I often have to remember that by the power of the Holy Spirit I have peace. There are many things to get worried, upset, and fearful about. As I live with this chronic disease called multiple sclerosis, there are many things to be worried, upset and fearful about. But as I remember that Jesus offers me a double portion of peace through the power of the Holy Spirit, I can rest in Him. He says that His yoke is easy and His burden is light.

 

P.S.My book, Fearless, is available to purchase. I’m so excited that the process has finished, but hopefully the legacy will continue for a long, long time. I hope it blesses you. In the book, I speak to how I have found hope and peace in spite of my diagnosis.

You can go to WestBow Press, my amazing publishing partner, Barnes and Noble at or Amazon.

Leave a Reply

