Sunday Devotion

I would say just about everybody knows the Lord’s prayer. It’s a very common and yet powerful prayer. Once again, my pastor gave me a new insight.

The Lord’s Prayer  from Matthew 6:9-13 is as follows:

Our Father who art in heaven, Holy be thy Name.

Your kingdom come Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors.

And do not lead us into temptation but deliver us from the evil one.

For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever.

There is one simple word that I usually quickly move on from.  Jesus is teaching the sermon on the mount. And when He says “our” it means Him and me. In Romans 8, Paul says “the Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if  children, then heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ.”

In Galatians 4 Paul says “and because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying out “Abba father!” Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son and if a son, an heir of God through Christ.”

That’s quite a statement.  I am God’s heir and Jesus is my co-heir, or in other words, He is my brother!! That’s why the Bible is called the Good News!  As I walk out my day I can certainly look back and see times when I don’t act like an heir of God or Jesus’s sister.  So this is a needed reminder to me!

Thank you, Father, that You are not done with me yet!  Your mercies are new every morning!  (Lamentations 3:22-23)

2 thoughts on “Sunday Devotion

Leave a Reply

