Resiliency

I recently read the new Momentum Magazine, Winter 2016-17. I Especially enjoyed the article entitled the resiliency factor. 

I was encouraged to see Dawnia mention that her faith is one of the key factors of her optimism. However the rest of the article listed other factors with no more mention of her faith.  The article lists social support, mindfulness meditation, practicing gratitude, creating a mind shift, practicing optimism, having a purpose or meaning in life, practicing forgiveness and identifying and deploying signature strengths. All of those factors are why faith is so important, but having a strong faith was never mentioned in any of those categories.

I chuckled at Jaqub Gurule’s definition of MS as man stud. I tried to come up with an alternative since I can’t be a man stud, and I came up with More Strong.  In my book, Fearless, I mentioned that my faith was stretched and strengthened through the grief that came along with my diagnosis. I mentioned that to my Bible study teacher, and he looked at me funny. But in reality I had to give my control over to God’s capable hands, which makes me stronger.

Under the category of practicing optimism I noticed that the article discusses happiness. I prefer to have joy, which is an outgrowth of my faith and goes much deeper than happiness, which can come and go. It goes on to mention that you can create your own happiness by focusing on the positive and not the negative. I understand that concept. But in all reality the “joy of the Lord is my strength”.

In my book I talk about making the switch from the things I can’t do to those I can do. This is also mentioned in the “having a purpose or meaning in life” category.  It’s not easy, but so very vital.  It took me awhile to get there, but when I did, I felt free of the burden.  Because “His yoke is easy and his burden is light”.

In practicing forgiveness, the article explains if you have trouble forgiving you could talk to the therapist. The forgiveness that I have is easy to give because my Lord died for me. If He can forgive me, I can only do the same for others.  

In the final category the article talks about giving yourself a break. I also mentioned that in my book.  For someone who was used to going 90 miles an hour, and a type A personality, that’s been hard for me. But again I know that I am in the center of God’s will in this moment in time and accept it.

 

The reason I wrote the book, besides needing to for myself, was to hopefully bless others. I know that I am not the only Christian who has MS. In this world of political correctness, sometimes it’s hard to admit that we are Christians. But, I know there’s at least one support group in South Carolina that is listed as a Christian group.  I know I can’t change the world, but maybe the little corner I live in.

 

Blessings for a beautiful day!!  Batten down the hatches if you live in the SE!  We’re expecting a possibility for four inches of snow and single digits temperature.  Not normal for North and South Carolina!!

Well it is snowing. And it’s beautiful! I love it! What I really wanted to add, is that I had my 11th basal cell cancer surgery today. In talking about resiliency, I have to say I’m really getting tired of these surgeries. They’re fairly nonevasive and outpatient, mostly, this one today was. What is really weird is that this is the third time in the same spot. On the right side of my neck.  It’s starting to hurt, and I have ice on it. I also took some Advil. Even though it hurts now, I know tomorrow it won’t.  I am very glad that my body bounces back quickly. Resiliency is an attitude, but also a function of our wonderfully perfect bodies!! 

One thought on “Resiliency

Leave a Reply

