Why do you celebrate Christmas?

Is your Christmas having Santa come and give presents? Is it a chance to get your kids some needed article of clothing?  I remember my son being very put out to receive a pair of jeans for Christmas!!  Or another toy to ignore in a day or so?  Or much needed pajamas to someone who is wearing pajamas that are almost as old as they are?  Santa is a legendary gift giver specifically on Christmas versus some other day.

So what is Christmas?  The word Christmas actually means Christ’s mass. So for people to take Christ out of Christmas is an oxymoron.  Even saying happy holidays is rooted in the church. It means happy holy days. Some people don’t like the term holidays. But for me if you’re talking about holy days then it’s recognizing the ones who are holy–God and Jesus Christ.

So what do you believe?

One of my favorite daily devotions is from Oswald Chambers called My Utmost for His Highest.  This week he talked about belief. He says “that belief is not an intellectual act, belief is moral act whereby I deliberately commit myself.  Belief must be the will to believe. That it is a deliberate launching forth on God and on what He says until I am no longer confident in what I have done, I am confident in God. Every man is made to reach out beyond his grasp. It is God who draws me, and my relationship to Him in the first place is a personal one, not an intellectual.”

Another one of my daily devotions is called Experiencing God day by day by Henry and Richard Blackaby.  They say, “we do not have to seek out and condemn today’s idols. Rather as we live out our Christianity, enjoy the abundant life God gives, our lives will discredit the idols around us. Yet as we uphold Christ with victorious, purposeful lives, others will see a difference and be drawn to Him and the life that He offers.”

So my question remains, why do you celebrate Christmas? Is it the idols of consumerism and greed with the visions of white-haired potbellied Santa?

Or are you celebrating Christ’s mass (worship), and living your abundant life full of deliberate belief for the One who is born on this day. It confuses me when people say I do not believe in Jesus Christ, but celebrate Christmas.  It is impossible to take Jesus out of Christmas. It is only Him who makes the days holy.

Personally, I celebrate the virgin birth of my Lord and Savior. I give gifts because the gift He gave me is beyond measure and this is but a small token of how I appreciate what He has done for me. So I also try to bless others in this small way. And it helps me to remember the three wise men who arrived on the scene to give gifts to the Holy One who generated the new star in the sky.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holy Days!!!

Leave a Reply

