MS muscle weakness and depression

MS muscle weakness and depression

I have mentioned before the website called every day health. There are two articles that I’d like to share with you. One is called MS Symptoms Thesaurus: Muscle Weakness.  In my book, Fearless (available at AmazonBarnes and Noble, or WestBow Press), I mention several of my symptoms and how they affect my overall health.

I talk a little bit about muscle weakness but this is a much better explanation. In addition to the symptoms listed in the article, I also have weakness in my lower legs. The pain I experience is below my knees on both legs. It is like burning, pins and needles, numbness, and weakness.  When I stand for longer than five or 10 minutes, I feel like my legs are going to collapse. If I am walking, my legs seem to handle a little bit more movement than 5 to 10 minutes.  One of the things in Trevis Gleason’s list explains that muscles closer to my core are doing the work for my extremities. I see that greatly. I mentioned in my book when I’m trying to write or eat I have to use my whole arm. When I do my lower body exercises  I also see my core works to complete the action with my right leg.  (Instead of isolating the muscles doing the work.)

Understanding depression

The next article talks about depression. Meredith Vieira is the author of this one as her husband has MS.   She states that depression might be linked to the effect of nerve pathways in the main brain that regulate mood.  In my book I talk about depression. In the first few months after I was diagnosed, I went to see a counselor. Most recently I noticed that I was feeling disconnected with life. I even had to make myself want to play with my granddaughters. That was certainly a wake up call for me.

 

Leave a Reply

