Sunday Devotion

I took a Bible study several years ago called the “Names of God.” I have learned to rely on His different names (“Hallowed be Your name”) at different times of my life.  The study was Lord, I Want to Know You by Kay Arthur, Precept Ministries International. I learned His names reveal His character. I want to know Him more, so His character is the best way to know Him. To know His character is to know and understand the depths of His love. So I rely on His names as I pray.  My constant prayer is that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to (me) the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him.” Ephesians 1:17

A sample of the Names of God from the Old Testament is included.  You can also do a simple Internet search to find more.

El Shaddai                      Lord God Almighty

El Elyon                          The Most High God

Adonai                            Lord, Master

Yahweh                           Lord, Jehovah

Jehovah Nissi                  The Lord My Banner

Jehovah Raah                 The Lord My Shepherd

Jehovah Rapha               The Lord That Heals

Jehovah Shammah          The Lord Is There

Jehovah Tsidkenu           The Lord Our Righteousness

Jehovah Mekoddishken  The Lord Who Sanctifies You

El Olam                          The Everlasting God

Elohim                            God

Qanna                              Jealous

Jehovah Jireh                  The Lord Will Provide

Jehovah Shalom             The Lord Is Peace

Jehovah Sabaoth             The Lord Of Hosts

Leave a Reply

